County Championship – A Team

The morning semi-finals witnessed Trevose beating Truro (2-1), while Tehidy Park accounted for Carlyon Bay by the same score-line.

The display of golf in the afternoon proved worthy of the final, with Trevose taking first blood in the opening match when Mike Ellis & Joe Micklethwaite defeated Richard & Peter Simmons on the 15th green. Parity was soon restored with Alan Fieldhouse & Thomas Rowe defeating Nick Gammon & Jonathan Tremain on the 16th hole.

With the match evenly poised at one game apiece it was fitting that the deciding game should go to the 18th green, with Ian Veale & Andrew Clotworthy holding a one-hole advantage over Steve Davis & David Cowan. The game was to end that way as the Trevose pair could only manage a bogey 5, with the Tehidy pair sitting four-feet away from the hole having only played 3 shots.

Club Captain, David Edwards was delighted to get his hands on the trophy that Tehidy Park last won in 2007 at Perranporth.

For further information see