Mail on Sunday

Simon Gregor (Team Captain) and his team travelled to Treloy for a difficult first round tie in the Mail on Sunday Team Classic.

The team of Chris Hoyle, Phil Andrew, Lee Medlen, Tom Chapman and Carl Band put up a brave fight around the course that was always going to favour the home side.

Chris came off second best in the opening match, but the experience of Phil Andrew levelled the match with his win over Matt Milburn. With Tom Chapman recording an impressive win in match four, and Carl Band losing in match five to Richard Hamilton the players and caddies gathered around debutant Lee Medlen.

Having been behind from the first hole Lee battled hard, eventually levelling his match with just two holes to play. Sadly there was to be no 'cinderella story' on this occasion, as with two solid pars his opponent claimed the decisive point for Treloy.

A good effort from the team, and nice to see TPGC back competing in the event.

Frank Wills – Q/F

The Frank Wills team advanced to the Semi-Finals with a hard fought 3-2 victory over St. Austell at Perranporth today.

Finger nails were being heartily digested as the top two matches went the way of the opposition; Martin Trewhella & Greg Taylor having stood 1 up on the 17th tee, eventually losing 1 down to a birdie on the 18th, before young James Levick, partnering Nathan Hancock found the going tough as they succumbed to a heavy defeat on the 14th green.

Cue the comeback, prompted by the 2008 Treble winning Club Captain, David O'Mahony and his partner (and fellow Past Captain) Bob Cope, who posted a solid performance in winning on the 16th hole.

The scores were then locked at two a-piece as Mike Eddy & Andy Kearney followed up with a handsome 4&3 win (15th green), which left the match at the mercy of match five, in which Ryan Curnow & Andrew Teuton (Tehidy) came up against John Walker & Tony Pearce.

Curnow & Teuton kept everyone on the edge of their seats before securing a semi-final berth with a 2&1 victory.

Tehidy Park will now play Looe Golf Club on Sunday, 10 February (10 a.m.) at St. Enodoc Golf Club, with the other semi-final featuring St. Enodoc -v- Trethorne.