President’s Trophy

Making a debut in the President’s Trophy, Tehidy Park recorded a strong win against local rivals Truro in the match played at Newquay Golf Club on Sunday, 29 October.

The format sees three golfers from each of the handicap categories 1, 2 & 3 play singles matchplay off handicap, meaning the magic number required is 5 to win the match. Whilst Tehidy Park took first blood in the opening singles it was Truro who then took command, leading 2.5 – 1.5 after four matches had been completed. Tehidy Park came storming back with performances which would see them win all five of the remaining matches to record a 6.5 – 2.5 victory. 

Tehidy Park will now play the winners of Falmouth and Mullion in the Quarter-Final on the weekend of 26 November, which is also when the CTC team will begin the defence of the title they secured last year with a titanic match against Trevose.   Venues are yet tbc.

President’s Trophy results:

  • Darren Vincent – won
  • Sean Pollard – halved
  • Simon Inwards – lost
  • Simon O’Mahony – lost
  • Graham Elliott – won
  • Josh Chapman – won
  • Joe Venn – won
  • Alex Hinds – won
  • Andrew Clotworthy – won

Yet one more date for your diary is the revised date / venue for the first round Frank Wills Salver match that was previously cancelled. Tehidy Park will now play Whitsand Bay at Perranporth Golf Club next Sunday (5 November), starting at 11 a.m.